Minutes

State Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities

The Arkansas Advisory Council for the Education of Individuals with Disabilities met in the Conference Room at the Victory Building, Suite 445, on Wednesday, October 26, 2016.

Council Members Present: Special Education Staff Present:

Bobby Acklin

Sarah Allen

Becky Cezar

Kathleen Atkins

Cindy Ball

Mary Broadaway

Dana Davis

Linda Barnes

Becky Cezar

Jody Fields

Christina Foley

Jared Hogue

Jennifer Gonzales

Courtney Eubanks Lisa Haley

Angeletta Giles Veronica Milton – for Jeanie Donaldson

Bill Glover Courtney Salas-Ford
Dewey Graves Rhonda Saunders

Candia Nicholas Sherry Rogers Deborah Swink Eric Treat Barry Vuletich

Carl Daughtery – for Alan McClain Stephanie Harvey – for Marylene Tate

Guest Present: John Copenhaver, Director Technical Assistance for Excellence in Special Education (TAESE) and principal investigator for the Mountain Plains Regional Resource Center (MPRRC).

The meeting began at 10:08 a.m. with Courtney Eubanks, Chair, calling the Council meeting to order and welcoming the Advisory Council members, Arkansas Department of Education, Special Education Unit (ADE-SEU) staff and the guest of the meeting. Lisa Haley, Special Education Associate Director welcomed Mr. Dewey Graves as a new Council member. Ms. Haley also introduced Mr. Jared Hogue as the new Dispute Resolution Administrator in the Special Education office. Ms. Becky Cezar, Administrator for Monitoring and Program Effectiveness, introduced Ms. Mistila Hunt as a new staff member. The July 27, 2016, minutes were reviewed and approved.

Presentation: John Copenhaver - Orientation of Advisory Council Members

Mr. Copenhaver provided an abbreviated orientation for Advisory Council Members that consisted of an overview of the council in the context of special education history/laws, the Council purpose and functions under the law, membership responsibilities, by-laws and functions under IDEA, meeting procedures, and setting annual priorities. Mr. Copenhaver explained that the role of the Council is to give advice, inform, counsel, recommend, suggest,

and guide. The primary Council responsibilities are to improve services for children with disabilities and advise the State of unmet needs in the education of children with disabilities. Mr. Copenhaver suggested that the Council develop an annual report beyond the IDEA Annual Performance Report (APR) outlining the Council's priorities and goals, key activities and accomplishments, and areas of concern and recommendations.

Presentation: Lisa Haley – Legislative Task Force on the Best Practices for Special Education Final Report

Ms. Haley reported that the Legislative Task Force was formed to identify the best practices in special education. The final Task Force Report includes numerous recommendations including: expanding child find activities; parental engagement; special education teacher recruitment, retention and licensure; Response to Intervention (RtI); educating students with disabilities in the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE); removing barriers to increased outcomes for students with disabilities; paperwork reduction; special education funding; graduation rates for students with disabilities; early childhood outcomes; and transition services and post-school outcomes for students with disabilities. A brief overview of the Annual Performance Report (APR) indicator data was also presented.

Setting Advisory Council Priorities and Sub-Committees:

Mr. Copenhaver stressed the importance of annual planning in order for an organization to focus efforts on a limited number of priority issues. The Council discussed possible priorities to be addressed and Barry Vuletich made a motion that the Council accept the committee structure proposed at the previous meeting along with priorities for those committees the Council had come to consensus around. Cindy Ball seconded and the motion was approved. The committees established by the council include Student Engagement, Inclusive Education, and Family Engagement. The priorities for the Student Engagement Committee are secondary transition, graduation rate and diploma options; the priorities for the Inclusive Engagement Committee are Least Restrictive Environment (LRE) - School Age and Early Childhood Outcomes; and the priorities for the Family Engagement Committee are Communication, Collaboration, Coordination of Services and Parent Engagement.

Student Engagement Committee Members: Bill Glover-Chair, Kathleen Atkins, Cindy Ball, Dewey Graves, Leslie Faulkner, Marylene Tate, and Eric Treat

Inclusive Education Committee Members: Candia Nicholas-Chair, Bobby Acklin, Courtney Eubanks, Deborah Swink, Sarah Allen, Sherry Rogers, and Carl Daughtery

Family Engagement Committee Members: Barry Vuletich-Chair, Angeletta Giles, Mary Broadaway, Julie Mayberry, Shelby Knight, Dana Davis, Denise Ennett, and Lisa Haley

Section Reports are now available to view on the Special Education website.

Next Steps and Final Remarks:

The next meeting is January 19, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. The January meeting agenda will include a discussion of the Annual Performance Report (APR) and sub committee work.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 p.m.