State Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities Minutes

The Arkansas Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities met online via Zoom on Wednesday, November 6, 2024.

Council Members Present:

Dr. Marcella Dalla Rosa Sydney Dennis Tracey Dowell Dewey Graves Patricia James Shelby Knight Dr. Suzanne Kucharczyk Leo Mabry Lacey Monroe David Terrell Eric Treat Rebecca Walker

Special Education Staff Present:

Dr. Jeff Adams Becky Bell Dr. Jody Fields Dr. Laura Goadrich Danita Pitts Rick Porter Rhonda Saunders Michelle Waldo

The meeting began at 2:30 p.m. with Ms. Rebecca Walker, Chairperson, calling the Council meeting to order. Ms. Walker welcomed the Advisory Council members and Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Office of Special Education (DESE-OSE) staff to the meeting.

Council Membership:

Ms. Rebecca Walker presented several perspective nominees to send over to Secretary Oliva for approval. All members were in favor. The Council also discussed the possibility of adding High School and/or College bound members to the Council in the future. All agreed this was a topic to further discuss in future meetings.

Section Highlights:

Section Highlights were presented and are available to view on the Special Education website.

Next Steps and Final Remarks:

The next Council meeting is scheduled for January 21, 2025, at 9:00 a.m. The meeting was adjourned at 2:59 p.m.