State Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities Minutes

The Arkansas Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities met in the Conference Room at the Victory Building, Suite 445, on Tuesday, April 19, 2022.

Council Members Present: Special Education Staff Present:

Cindy Ball Jeff Adams
Marcella Dalla Rosa Crystal Bethea
Tracy Dowell Jody Fields
Leslie Faulkner Amy Goddard
Dewey Graves Yvonne Greene
Teresa Hendrix Josh Hart
Jessica Hickman Danita Pitts

Patricia James Rick Porter
Tim Johnston Rhonda Saunders
Candia Nicholas Matt Sewell
Sherry Rogers Robin Stripling

Bruce Smith Michelle Waldo Viviana Villegas

Cua

Guest:

Katelynn Bates - Intern

The meeting began at 10:05 a.m. with Mr. Bruce Smith, Vice Chairperson, calling the Council meeting to order. Mr. Smith welcomed the Advisory Council members and Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Office of Special Education (DESE-OSE) staff to the meeting.

Approval of Meeting Minutes:

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the January 18, 2022, meeting. The minutes were approved by the council.

An election was held for this year's Chairperson and Vice Chairperson. Courtney Eubanks was nominated and voted in as Chairperson. Bruce Smith was nominated and voted in as Vice Chairperson.

Presentation: Amy Goddard, Brain Injury Specialist, presented an overview of brain injury in children and youth. She highlighted the need for Return to Learn support to assist children and youth with concussion in their transition back to school. The REAP Concussion Management Program was reviewed with the committee. Amy also posed the problem children with non-traumatic brain injury experience with eligibility for special education. Several states have expanded their definition of Traumatic Brain Injury to Acquired Brain Injury to capture students exhibiting a need for special education and related services but have not sustained an injury due to an external force. The committee verbalized support for expansion of the term to include children with acquired brain injury. Amy shared her website: www.arbraininjury.org and provided materials to the council. Amy would also like input for the one-page Return to Learn form for athletes. If you are interested in providing feedback, please email her at Amy.Goddard@ade.arkansas.gov

Mr. Matt Sewell, Director for Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Office of Special Education, gave an overview of Arkansas' Part B Interactive Spreadsheet FFY 22. Every February our annual application for the next year is discussed. The annual application pertains to the money the state received from the federal government for the education of students with disabilities. The proposed budget was discussed, and Council Members provided input.

Presentation: Robin Stripling, Curriculum and Assessment Coordinator, shared information pertaining to the path Arkansas is on regarding special education. Based on student outcome data and reviews of federal laws, Arkansas will move toward more students with disabilities receiving core instruction in the general education classroom. Students may require a variety of supports and many of those were outlined. Several resources that districts might find helpful were shared:

- Yes, We Can by Heather Friziellie, Julie Schmidt, and Jeanne Spiller
- Reimagining Special Education by Jenna Mancini Rufo and Julie Causton
- The Principal's Handbook for Leading Inclusive Schools by Julie Causton and George Theoharis
- Six Shifts to Improve Special Education and Other Interventions by Nathan Levenson

Section Reports:

Section Reports were presented and are available to view on the Special Education website.

Future Agenda Item Suggestions:

- Updates on Statewide System of Support for Behavior including BX3 Shelia Smith
- Accessible Educational Materials Evan Beavers
- Transition/Film Camp Bonnie Boaz
- Regulations Review (Change to Rules Review) Yvonne Greene
- ESVI/Cane Quest Christy Dixon

Next Steps and Final Remarks:

The next Council meeting is scheduled for July 19, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. The meeting was adjourned at 2:25 p.m.