State Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities Minutes

The Arkansas Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities met in the Conference Room at the Victory Building, Suite 445, on Tuesday, July 16, 2019.

Council Members Present: Special Education Staff Present:

Jeff Adams Cindy Ball Mary Broadaway Julie Amstutz Maryanne Caldwell - for Alan McClain Bonnie Boaz Marcella Dalla Rosa Jerri Clark Dana Davis Jody Fields Yvonne Greene Courtney Eubanks Leslie Faulkner Jared Hogue Lisa Johnson Bill Glover

Shelby Knight Courtney Salas-Ford
Lacey Monroe Rhonda Saunders
Sherry Rogers Matt Sewell
Bruce Smith Michelle Waldo

Deb Swink Eric Treat

Sonja Wright-McMurray – for Dr. Angela Kremers

Guests Present:

Teresa Tate

The meeting began at 10:05 a.m. with Ms. Deb Swink, Chairperson, calling the Council meeting to order. Ms. Swink welcomed the Advisory Council members; Arkansas Department of Education, Special Education Unit (ADE-SEU) staff; and guests to the meeting.

Ms. Mary Broadaway informed the Council of her resignation and that she will no longer serve on the Council. Any nominations for her replacement must be submitted to Mr. Matt Sewell for consideration.

Approval of Meeting Minutes:

There was a quorum; therefore, Mr. Eric Treat made a motion to approve the April 16, 2019, minutes and Ms. Dana Davis seconded. The minutes were approved by the council.

Presentation: Ms. Courtney Salas-Ford, Deputy General Counsel for Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) – Legal Services - Ms. Courtney Salas- Ford presented an overview of education acts passed in the most recent 92nd General Assembly, Regular Session 2019. Updates included Acts 190, 640, 709, 1029, 523, 557, 83, 1082, 1083, 170, 1040, 428, 532, 548,1078, and 827.

Presentation: Ms. Maryanne Caldwell, Statewide Transition Manager for Arkansas Rehabilitation Services (ARS) and Ms. Sonja Wright-McMurray, Associate Director for Career and Technical Education – Special Projects – Ms. Maryanne Caldwell and Ms. Sonja

Wright-McMurray presented an overview of their Inclusion Film Camp collaboration between ARS and Career and Technical Education. They also showed a short video segment. Fifty (50) high school students from all over Arkansas took part in Joey Travolta's Inclusion Film Camp, designed for students with disabilities to learn about the film industry.

Presentation: Ms. Courtney Eubanks, Special Services Administrator for Lakeside School District (Garland County) – Ms. Courtney Eubanks presented an overview for Project SEARCH Arkansas: ACCESS Initiative. This project is a partnership with CHI St. Vincent in Hot Springs to provide the on-site internships for qualifying applicants. Interns will participate in a nine-month internship program that will consist of three ten-week rotations within the hospital setting. Individuals participating in this model should be between the ages of 18-35, qualify for Arkansas Rehabilitation Services, be in their last year of high school or have graduated from high school and received their diploma from one of the following high schools: Fountain Lake High School, Lakeside High School (Hot Springs), and Hot Springs High School.

Section Reports:

Section Reports were presented and are available to view on the Special Education website.

Presentation: Ms. Jerri Clark, Arkansas Department of Education, School Health Services **Director**, presented an overview of Arkansas Medicaid Administrative Claiming (ARMAC), Medicaid in the Schools (MITS) and PASSE (Provider-Led Arkansas Shared Savings Entity).

Presentation: Mr. Matt Sewell, Arkansas Department of Education, Special Education Director, presented the current status of the Advisory Council Membership. With Mary Broadaway's resignation a parent position on the Advisory Council board is open. Please submit all written nominations via email to Deb or Matt for consideration. Matt also alerted the Council that it is time to elect the Chairperson. There was a unanimous nomination for Deb Swink to continue to be the Chairperson of the board. The motion was carried and accepted.

Future Agenda Item Suggestions:

- Networking between council members
- Candia Nicholas: Parent Advisory Group Training (from April 2019 meeting)
- Matt Sewell: Advisory Council Annual Report and Information on Inclusive Practices
- Dana Davis: McKinney-Vento Homeless Education
- Shelby Knight: Center for Exceptional Families
- Sherry Rogers: Foster Families

Next Steps and Final Remarks:

The next Council meeting is scheduled for October 15, 2019, at 10:00 a.m. The meeting will be held in Clinton, Arkansas, at the Clinton School District, Administration Building in the Professional Development Room. The address is 765 Yellowjacket Lane, Clinton, Arkansas 72031. The meeting was adjourned at 2:08 p.m.