Minutes

State Advisory Council for the Education of Children with Disabilities

The Arkansas Advisory Council for the Education of Individuals with Disabilities met in the Conference Room at the Victory Building, Suite 445, on Tuesday, August 7, 2018.

Council Members Present:	Special Education Staff Present:
Cindy Ball	Jeff Adams
Dana Davis	Jody Fields
Bill Glover	Christina Foley
Dewey Graves	Yvonne Greene
Shelby Knight	Jared Hogue
Angela Kremers	Bev Leonard
Candia Nicholas	Danita Pitts
Sherry Rogers	Tabitha Riendeau
Bruce Smith	Rhonda Saunders
Eric Treat	Robin Stripling
	Lisa Tyler
	Michelle Waldo

The meeting began at 10:00 a.m. with Ms. Shelby Knight, acting chair for this meeting, calling the Council meeting to order. Ms. Knight welcomed the Advisory Council members, Arkansas Department of Education, Special Education Unit (ADE-SEU) staff; and guests to the meeting.

Ms. Lisa Tyler, Director of Student Support Services for the ADE, asked for an amendment to the January 2018 minutes to reflect that Ms. Deborah Swink was elected to be the chair for the committee at that time. The motion to amend the minutes was made and seconded and the council approved.

Motions were made and seconded to approve the minutes from the January 18 and May 2 meetings, and the minutes from both meetings were approved by the council.

Introduction of New ADE-SEU Staff Members:

Ms. Tyler introduced Ms. Michelle Waldo, Administrative Assistant for the Associate Director of Special Education; Mr. Jeff Adams, Coordinator of the State Systemic Improvement Plan; and Mr. Matt Sewell, who will be serving as the Associate Director of Special Education beginning Monday, August 13. Mr. Sewell was not present at the meeting but will be attending the next council meeting. Ms. Yvonne Greene, Administrator for Monitoring and Program Effectiveness, introduced Ms. Tabitha Riendeau as a new Public School Program Advisor. Mr. Jared Hogue, Administrator of Dispute Resolution and Special Projects, introduced Ms. Danita Pitts as the new Compliance Specialist. All council members introduced themselves and spoke about the stakeholders they represent.

Presentation: Student Success Plans

Ms. Tyler presented an overview of Student Success Plans which is a personalized plan for all students beginning in the 8th grade and will be implemented this coming school year. The purpose of the plan is to help guide students to post-secondary success through documented conversations between adults and students.

<u>Question for Maryanne Caldwell from Sherry Rogers</u> – "At what point should we expect ARS services/counselor to be involved in those transition meetings & development of the planning?" Ms. Caldwell was not present at the meeting but she can speak to this at the next meeting, and, hopefully, give an overview of where they are now.

Presentation: Annual Determination Report

Ms. Tyler presented an overview of the annual determination report for Arkansas.

Section Reports:

Section reports were presented and discussed with the Council and are now posted on our website.

Presentation: Annual Report of the Advisory Council

Ms. Tyler discussed the need for an annual report of the Council's activities.

As stated in the Council's by-laws, there is to be an annual report of the highlighted activities of the council for the past year, discussion of any subcommittee work, goals and priorities that are established, and what the outcomes are. Ms. Tyler presented an example of what the state of Georgia prepares for their annual report. Ms. Tyler will work with Michelle Waldo to create an annual report for this council and will have a draft ready for the next meeting. Ms. Tyler expressed her hope that Mr. John Copenhaver who is with the Center for Technical Assistance for Excellence in Special Education (TAESE) at the Center for Persons with Disabilities at Utah State University will be brought in since he will be able to facilitate creating a report and conduct an orientation for new members of the Council.

Currently our by-laws state that the council meetings will be held in central Arkansas. If we want to conduct meetings outside of central Arkansas, the council probably needs to recommend revising the by-laws to reflect this.

Also, Ms. Tyler recommended adding something to the by-laws regarding virtual participation of the members as well as increasing the opportunity for public comment at the meetings.

A unanimous vote was made to dissolve all sub-committee groups and focus on one large group.

Presentation: Catastrophic Funding Procedures

Ms. Tyler presented considerations for revisions to the catastrophic funding procedures.

A motion was made and seconded for Ms. Deborah Swink to fill the chair position and the Council approved. Ms. Shelby Knight was nominated co-chair and all voted in favor.

Ms. Tyler discussed the status of the work of the alternate diploma pathway option for students with significant cognitive disabilities.

Next Steps and Final Remarks:

The next Council meeting is scheduled for October 17, 2018, at 10:00 a.m. The October meeting agenda will include a discussion on establishing priorities for all council members in 2018-19 and by-laws for virtual participation and council meeting locations. A motion was made and seconded to revisit by-laws at the next meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m.